Doctor Honoris Causa

The doctorate "Honoris Causa" is a distinction that the University awards to a personality who has made a mark in a particular field.

List of personalities who have received the insignia of Doctor Honoris Causa in recent years on the proposal of the Faculty:

March 2023
Anton ALUJA, University of Lleida, Spain

March 2020
Dorothy Vera Margaret BISHOP, University of Oxford, Great Britain

March 2019
Laurent Mottron, University of Montreal, Canada

March 2018
Marie DURUR-BELLAT, University of Burgundy, France

March 2017
Mireille CYR, University of Montreal, Canada

March 2016
Johan E. F. Sundberg, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

March 2015
Nelson COWAN, University of Missouri-Columbia, USA

May 2014
Eckhard KLIEME, University of Frankfurt am Main, Germany

March 2013
Linda ALLAL, University of Geneva, Switzerland

March 2012
Francis EUSTACHE, University of Caen/Basse-Normandie, France

October 2010
Karalyn PATTERSON, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

March 2009
Neville Postlethwaite, University of Hamburg

March 2008
Martin CONWAY, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Marc LEBLANC, Canada

March 2004
Robert SIEGLER, Carnegie-Mellon, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Jere Edward BROPHY, Michigan State University, USA

March 2001
Nathaniel Lees GAGE, Stanford University, USA
Andrew MAYES, Sheffield University, United Kingdom

March 2000
Andrew William YOUNG, University of York, England
Michel FAYOL, Université Blaise Pascal, France

March 1999
Serban IONESCU, Université René Descartes - Paris V, France
Robert Edward SLAVIN, Johns Hopkins University & Howard University, USA

March 1996
John Albertus MICHON, University of Leiden, Netherlands

March 1992
Benjamin S. BLOOM, University of Chicago
Paul WATZMAWICK, Mental Research Institute, Palo Alto, California

Francqui Chair

The Francqui Foundation awards a number of "Francqui Chairs" each year. These are intended to invite a Professor from another Belgian University to give ten hours of lectures. These are not considered as part of the teaching but rather as a complement.

Olivier KLEIN, Université Libre de Bruxelles

Axel CLEEREMANS, Université Libre de Bruxelles

updated on 5/22/23

Share this page